Register Yourself to Vote

Your senior prom’s a big deal. So is voting for the first time.

From your local school board to the Senate, it’s important to vote in every election. Thanks for taking the first step. Take just a few minutes and complete the form below to get started and to make sure your voice is heard!

Already registered? Click here to Pledge to Register 3 Friends!

In partnership with When We All Vote, MTV will host the Prom-athon – a virtual celebration for the Class of 2020 with a special focus on commemorating another important milestone for young people this year: registering and voting in the national election in November. The Prom-athon will be a fun, music-filled experience full of exciting surprises, complete with celebrity appearances and exclusive performances. 

Come back on Friday, May 22 to watch the livestream below:

2020 Prom Challenge Winners

In February, When We All Vote and MTV’s +1thevote campaign launched the 2020 Prom Challenge– a new program to celebrate and recognize 20 high schools across the country integrating voter registration into their schools in the most creative and impactful ways. The Prom-athon will shine a light on the 20 winning high schools and students included below:

  • Dobson High School – Mesa, AZ
  • Western School of Science & Technology – Phoenix, AZ
  • Norte Vista High School – Riverside, CA
  • Compton Early College High School – Compton, CA
  • Community Charter Early College High School – Lake View Terrace, CA
  • Thurgood Marshall Academy PCHS – Washington, DC
  • Hialeah Gardens HS – Hialeah Gardens, FL
  • Meadowcreek High School – Norcross, GA
  • TF North High School – Calumet City, IL
  • Muchin College Prep – Chicago, IL
  • Cass Technical High School – Detroit, MI
  • Communication and Media Arts High School – Detroit, MI
  • John F. Kennedy High School – Winston – Salem, NC
  • R.J. Reynolds High School – Winston- Salem, NC
  • Valley High School – Las Vegas, NV
  • STEM Academy at Showalter – Chester, PA
  • Abraham Lincoln High School – Philadelphia, PA
  • Building 21 High School – Allentown, PA
  • Westbury High School – Houston, TX
  • Golda Meir High School – Milwaukee, WI

Honorary Prom-athon Chaperones

The Prom-athon chaperones are city and state leaders who are committed to lifting up virtual events for the Class of 2020. The group includes a broad representation of the winning Prom Challenge cities and states. We are grateful for their help in shining a light on these students’ incredible achievements and commitment to our democracy.

  • Governor Gavin Newsom, California 
  • Governor Gretchen Whitmer, Michigan 
  • Governor Tom Wolf, Pennsylvania 
  • Governor Gina Raimondo, Rhode Island
  • Thomas E. Parker, Superintendent, Allentown School District, Allentown, PA
  • Dr. Teresa A. Lance, Superintendent, Thornton Fractional HS District, Calumet City, IL
  • Dr. Juan Baughn, Superintendent, Chester Upland School District, Chester, PA
  • Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot, Chicago
  • Dr. Darin Brawley, Superintendent, Compton Unified School District, Compton, CA
  • Dr. Allan J. Mucerino, Superintendent, Alvord Unified School District, Corona, CA
  • Dr. Nikolai Vitti, Superintendent, Detroit Public Schools Community District
  • Mayor Sylvester Turner, City of Houston 
  • Dr. Grenita Lathan, Interim Superintendent, Houston Independent School District
  • Dr. Jesus F. Jara, Superintendent, Clark County School District, Las Vegas, NV
  • Mayor John Giles, Mesa 
  • Mayor Tom Barrett, Milwaukee
  • Mayor Jim Kenney, Philadelphia
  • Mayor Kate Gallego, Phoenix 
  • Peter Boyle, Founding Director of Western School of Science and Tech, Phoenix  
  • Mayor Muriel Bowser, Washington, D.C. 
  • Raymond Weeden Jr., Executive Director of Thurgood Marshall Academy, Washington, D.C.